top of page

1992 All Ireland Under 21

Continuing our look back at Passage hurlers who figured in All Ireland Hurling finals, this time we take a look back at the All-Ireland u 21 Hurling final of 1992, victory by Waterford with four Passage Hurlers on the panel Ray Barry, Anthony Fitzgerald, Seamus Keating (Jnr))and James Connors. In the first round at Walsh Park Waterford beat Cork 1-10 to 0-11, in the Munster final in Thurles they beat Clare 0-17 to 1-12 and in the All-Ireland semifinal in Parnell Park they beat Antrim 4-16 to 2-8. In these first three games Ray Barry, Seamus Keating and Anthony Fitzgerald all played, and in the final Ray Barry and Anthony Fitzgerald played. The All Ireland final was fixed for Kilkenny on Sept 13 the 1992

In an edited version report on the final from the Munster Express the following appeared. For sheer breath-taking intensity and nail-biting finish it would be difficult to equal let alone surpass last Sunday's terrific All-Ireland Under-21 Hurling Final between Waterford and Offaly at Nowlan Park, Kilkenny. The game ending appropriately enough all square after 65 minutes of never-to-be-forgotten exchanges. Watched by a 20,000 plus attendance, this first ever championship meeting between the counties, unquestionably developed into one of the best ever Finals in the grade and without a shadow of doubt proved itself to be the best hurling game in any grade of 1992.Waterford Team that day: Ray Barry, Kieran O'Gorman, Owen Dunphy, Mark O'Sullivan Tony Browne, capt,Pat Fanning, Fergal Hartley, Tom Fives, Johnny Brenner, Paul Power, Michael Hubbard, Anthony Fitzgerald, Noel Dalton, Sean Daly, Ken McGrath, Subs, M Geary for P Power, P Flynn for M. Geary. Scorers for Waterford: Sean Daly 3-0, Paul Flynn 1-0, Johnny Brenner 0-4. The replay was fixed for Nowlan Park again on Sunday September 27th 1992 and the report again edited in the Munster Express went as follows; at exactly 4.45 p.m on Sunday last Nowlan Park, Kilkenny became engulfed with unprecedented and unforgettable scenes of uncontrollable joy and emotion. The final whistle had just been sounded by referee Willie Barrett and the 1992 All-Ireland Under-21 Hurling Championship Final replay had come to an end. The victors were the superlative representatives of Waterford and they had finally dismissed the challenge of firm favorites Offaly, claiming the title for the first time in the history of a competition inaugurated in 1964 and by a clear margin of 0-12 to 2-3. Team that played that day Waterford; Ray Barry (goal), Passage, Kieran O'Gorman (Lismore), Owen Dunphy (De La Salle), Mark O'Sullivan (Lismore), Tony Browne, Capt. (Mount Sion), Pat Fanning (De La Salle), Fergal Hartley (Ballygunner), Tom Fives (Tourin), Johnny Brenner (De La Salle), Anthony Fitzgerald (Passage), Michael Hubbard (Ballydurn), Kevin McGrath (Colligan), Noel Dalton (De La Salle), Sean Daly (Lismore), Paul Flynn (Ballygunner). Sub: Paul Power (Ballygunner) for Noel Dalton. Scorers: P Flynn 0-5, K McGrath 0-1, J. Brenner 0-1, F Hartley 0-1, S. Daly 0-1, N Dalton 0-1, A. Fitzgerald 0-1, M Hubbard 0-1.

Recent Posts

See All

Our round three clash with De La Salle will go ahead in Walsh Park at 18:30hrs on Saturday August 13th. The group placings will then determine the preliminary quarter final ties.

Victories against St Saviours and Naomh Pol have secured runners up spot in group1 of the JJ Murphy sponsored Eastern Junior Hurling championship. The quarter final is listed for Thursday August 18th

We have reached the knockout stages of the Gerry Kennedy Crash Repairs Eastern Junior Hurling championship. Victories against Fenor and Kilmacthomas saw us finish second in Group 1. Fixture: Sunday

bottom of page